Embracing Acceptance

Weekly wisdom to level up your creative life in 3 minutes, for free.

Happy Wednesday!

Here’s a short story, a creative tool, and a piece of art to inspire you this week.

A SHORT STORY

New Camadoli Hermitage, 2024

This past weekend, I spent three days in silence during my annual retreat at a beautiful hermitage in Big Sur.

Anastasiia joined me, and most of our days were spent walking, reading books, and contemplating.

On this trip, I reflected on many things: my work, my life, my family, and my friendships.

But mostly, I listened.

And I focused a lot on acceptance.

Surrounded by such beautiful nature, I was reminded that life goes through cycles.

In the same way things die in nature every autumn, we can choose to let go of preconceived ideas of how life is supposed to unfold.

So, when spring comes around again, we can notice that rebirth—within us and among us.

We can take a moment to give thanks for that and celebrate it.

Every time I venture into silence, I become more aware of the powerful, humbling, and extraordinary life force that surges around me.

And for a moment, I accept it fully.

I accept that I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be.

How do you find acceptance in your own life, especially when faced with the unexpected? What do you need to let go of right now in order to give way for something in the future?

A CREATIVE TOOL

OpenAI recently announced that they developed a watermarking tool that claims 99% accuracy in identify ChatGPT generated text.

While this may seem an answer to how we begin to identify what was AI generated or not - this is also a larger trend that is emerging towards verifiable authenticity.

Here’s the thing: OpenAI doesn’t want to release it because they fear people will stop using chatGPT by 30 %!

Want to learn even more creative tools? Check out the weekly newsletter I write at HUG called Creator Royalties.

A PIECE OF ART

“Don’t return to your native town:

You can’t teach the truth there.

By the village stream an old woman

is calling you by your childhood name.

-Zen Master Ma-tsu

Know of anyone who might benefit from these helpful creative reminders? Send them this link.

Grateful,

Michael