An Appointment With One's Self

Weekly wisdom to level up your creative life in 3 minutes, for free.

Happy Wednesday!

Here’s a short story, a creative tool, and a piece of art to inspire you this week.

A SHORT STORY

Personal Journal, 2015

There is a rather famous story about Gandhi that at the start of one especially busy day, he said, "I have so much to accomplish today that I must meditate for two hours instead of one."

In recent weeks, amid my own busy life, I've been thinking about this story and the importance of setting an appointment with one’s self.

For the past ten years, I've tried to do just that by dedicating five minutes each day to cut out distractions and listen to my inner self, aiming to break free from the constant cycle of stimulus and response.

What I've found most valuable in this practice is learning to distinguish the different voices in my head and getting closer to what some might call my "soul" – the wise voice beneath all the noise that guides me.

In a world filled with non-stop media, I believe this practice is necessary now more than ever. In a way, that's what this newsletter is about. For three minutes every Wednesday, maybe we can create a space together for listening and reflection.

So, as I face long days ahead this month, Gandhi's story reminds me to make more time for myself – perhaps extending those five minutes to ten today.

When can you make an appointment to listen to your self this week?  What is your soul telling you?  What are you learning from that conversation?

A CREATIVE TOOL

During our final laboratory for Theater Mitu’s (holy) BLOOD we began learning the music we composed as a band.

I don’t identify as a musician at all. But, for me, I have learned so much working outside my discipline. It revealed to me the importance to constantly search for moments where I felt uncomfortable - for this is a place for growth.

In a creative space, I have come to discover - that is the most important place of all.

If you want to see us in action, tickets are on-sale now for our performances May 16th-25th!

Theater Mitu laboratory, February 2024

Want to learn even more creative tools? Check out the weekly newsletter I write at HUG called Creator Royalties.

A PIECE OF ART

“Keeping Quiet” by Pablo Neruda

Now we will count to twelve
and we will all keep still
for once on the face of the earth,
let's not speak in any language;
let's stop for a second,
and not move our arms so much.

It would be an exotic moment
without rush, without engines;
we would all be together
in a sudden strangeness.

Fishermen in the cold sea
would not harm whales
and the man gathering salt
would not look at his hurt hands.

Those who prepare green wars,
wars with gas, wars with fire,
victories with no survivors,
would put on clean clothes
and walk about with their brothers
in the shade, doing nothing.

What I want should not be confused
with total inactivity.

Life is what it is about...

If we were not so single-minded
about keeping our lives moving,
and for once could do nothing,
perhaps a huge silence
might interrupt this sadness
of never understanding ourselves
and of threatening ourselves with
death.

Now I'll count up to twelve
and you keep quiet and I will go.

Know of anyone who might benefit from these helpful creative reminders? Send them this link.

Grateful,

Michael