Finding Joy

Weekly wisdom to level up your creative life in 3 minutes, for free.

Happy Wednesday!

Here’s a short story, a creative tool, and a piece of art to inspire you this week.

A SHORT STORY

Me and Geshe in New York

Me and Geshe in India

Eight years ago, I ran an artist intensive in Japan alongside Theater Mitu.

During our time in Kyoto, we sat with a 90-year-old Zen monk who guided us through a meditation practice.

As he spoke to us, he had a way of making you hang on every single word. Partly because he spoke very slowly, but also because he spoke with a clarity and calmness that felt serene.

After sitting in silence for 20 minutes, I remember he said something that had a profound impact on me.

In the contemplative traditions, he told us, "you come home to the body through the breath."

"Breath is the key to understanding who we are, where we are going, and where we've come from."

Then, he took a very long pause and said:

"I like Michael Jackson. I think he's perfect."

Giggles filled the room.

And now, many years later, I still chuckle when I tell this story.

But upon further reflection, I can see the deep wisdom in this exchange.

There's a Buddhist idea that the point of life is to participate joyfully in the sorrows of the world.

In other words, to answer the questions: How do we learn to live, to love, to die? And to do so with joy.

One of the reasons I have spent so much time with monks of different traditions is because they seem to be professionals at being human.

In many ways, they have taught me one of the most important lessons ever—that everything I need is here through the breath, if only I'm wide-awake enough and present to see it.

And while I'm at it—not to take myself too seriously. 🙂 

How are you finding a moment to return to your breath today? And if you’re feeling a bit of sorrow, how can you choose to experience it with joy?

A CREATIVE TOOL

The other day I read a fascinating article about how the US school system has begun to embrace AI after many universities initially banned tools like ChatGPT, fearing misuse.

With graduate prompt engineering roles offering up to $300K, it’s no surprise that the education system is pivoting to get on board.

But, underneath this trend, I do sense a deeper fear of not wanting to admit that you use ChatGPT in fear of individuals judging you.

So, I thought I would take a moment this week to nudge you if you’re on the fence. From my own experience, I have found my productivity and work to increase greatly while treating AI as a collaborator and using ChatGPT.

And if you’re excited about these new ideas, check out the podcast I co-host on Sirius XM - where we keep you up to date on what you need to know in all things tech + art + innovation. In 10 minutes or less!

Want to learn even more creative tools? Check out the weekly newsletter I write at HUG called Creator Royalties.

A PIECE OF ART

The Paradox by Sarah Kay

When I am inside writing,
all I can think about is how I should be outside living.

When I am outside living,
all I can do is notice all there is to write about.

When I read about love, I think I should be out loving.
When I love, I think I need to read more.

I am stumbling in pursuit of grace,
I hunt patience with a vengeance.

On the mornings when my brother’s tired muscles
held to the pillow, my father used to tell him,

For every moment you aren’t playing basketball,
someone else is on the court practicing.

I spend most of my time wondering
if I should be somewhere else.

So I have learned to shape the words thank you
with my first breath each morning, my last breath every night.

When the last breath comes, at least I will know I was thankful
for all the places I was so sure I was not supposed to be.

All those places I made it to,
all the loves I held, all the words I wrote.

And even if it is just for one moment,
I will be exactly where I am supposed to be.

Know of anyone who might benefit from these helpful creative reminders? Send them this link.

Grateful,

Michael