Lessons from Training for an Ultramarathon

Weekly wisdom to level up your creative life in 3 minutes, for free.

Happy Wednesday!

Here’s a short story, a creative tool, and a piece of art to inspire you this week.

A SHORT STORY

Ultramarathon training, 2024

Over the past few months, I have been training for my first ultramarathon, which I will write about in depth in a few weeks.

In the meantime, much of my training has me thinking more about mindfulness and less about the physical demands of so much running.

In particular, I've noticed how much my mind wants to either quit or fast forward to the end of the race.

This reminds me of a Zen story where a young man goes to a master and announces himself, saying, “I’m here! I’m ready to practice. So, how long do you think it will take to attain enlightenment?”

The Master looks at him and says, “For you? Ten years.”

The young man responds, “Well, what if I really give myself to it? And commit?”

The Master says, “Twenty years, then.”

The young man says, “Wait, why did you double it? That makes no sense. Can’t you see? I’m ready to give all I can to achieve enlightenment!”

The Master then says, “Ah, yes, in your case it might take thirty years then.”

This teaching reminds us that it is not about getting to the result. It’s about being still and open, to see what is possible.

I can’t say I achieved that during my recent 12-hour practice run—mostly, I faced an immense amount of doubt and a lot of attempt to escape the present moment.

But, in a few moments, when I really let go and allow my mind to be still, clarity comes for a moment, and I’m able to accept the possibility in front of me.

I’m able to truly believe that I am stronger than I think I am.

Is there a place in your life where you want to fast forward to the end today? How can you reframe that moving forward?

A CREATIVE TOOL

Over the next few years, artificial intelligence will seamlessly begin to blend into our lives - from the way we write, plan, and so much more.

Take a look at what Apple is doing with Apple Intelligence. Imagine that by this fall and ultimately next year, pretty much everyone on this email list will be interacting more and more with AI.

From a revamped Siri to advanced writing tools and image generation capabilities, these updates promise to bring Apple devices to the forefront of AI integration.

Want to learn even more creative tools? Check out the weekly newsletter I write at HUG called Creator Royalties.

A PIECE OF ART

“The Guest House” by Rumi

Translated by Coleman Barks

This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still, treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
meet them at the door laughing,
and invite them in.

Be grateful for whoever comes,
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.

Know of anyone who might benefit from these helpful creative reminders? Send them this link.

Grateful,

Michael