The Mentor

Weekly wisdom to level up your creative life in 3 minutes, for free.

Happy Wednesday!

Here’s a short story, a creative tool, and a piece of art to inspire you this week.

A SHORT STORY

Colman Domingo Photo: Vanity Fair

This past weekend, I got to see the film Sing Sing, which centers on a group of inmates at a maximum-security prison involved in the creation of theatrical stage shows.

At the heart of the film is the actor Colman Domingo, who gives a soulful performance as the group’s leader and mentor.

As I watched the film, I couldn’t help but draw parallels to my own life.

In 2004, the summer before I moved to NYC, I worked with Colman at the Public Theater. Similar to the film, he took me under his wing and made me feel like I belonged to the NYC community.

When I came up to audition for graduate school, I crashed on his couch. We watched VHS tapes of his one-person show - A Boy and His Soul.

He shared with me the ins and outs of being an artist and was one of the first multidisciplinary artists I encountered.

He was either writing, directing, or acting, but above all, he was an artist. He was always attempting to discover something in his work.

Most importantly, he made me feel like I belonged in that sacred tribe of artists and gave me the courage to move to NYC and pursue my own dream.

I’ll never forget that. His mentorship not only shaped my career but also instilled in me a profound sense of belonging and purpose.

I only hope I can pay it forward, inspiring others as he inspired me.

How can you be a mentor to another this week? How can you make them feel like they belong?

A CREATIVE TOOL

In my own creative practice, I often turn to other pieces of work for inspiration. As a tool, I use this to guide me when I feel lost or need an extra reminder to bring me back to the source of own creativity.

So, after seeing ‘Sing Sing’ this past weekend, I couldn’t help but mention it here as an excellent tool.

This will inspire you.

Want to learn even more creative tools? Check out the weekly newsletter I write at HUG called Creator Royalties.

A PIECE OF ART

“There is a Candle in Your Heart” by Rumi

There is a candle in your heart, ready to be kindled. There is a void in your soul, ready to be filled. You feel it, don't you? You feel the separation from the Beloved. Invite Him to fill you up, embrace the fire. Remind those who tell you otherwise that Love comes to you of its own accord, and the yearning for it cannot be learned in any school.

Know of anyone who might benefit from these helpful creative reminders? Send them this link.

Grateful,

Michael