The Power of Mentorship

Weekly wisdom to level up your creative life in 3 minutes, for free.

Happy Wednesday!

Here’s a short story, a creative tool, and a piece of art to inspire you this week.

A SHORT STORY

Patrick, Paige, and Michael, 2007-2022

This past weekend, I was teaching at Utah Shakespeare Festival for a High School Shakespeare Competition, and reflecting a lot on the power of mentorship.

I thought a lot about my dear friend and mentor, Patrick Page, who has made a massive impact on my life.

Back in 2006, I sought him out by writing him a letter at his stage door — he was playing Scar in The Lion King at that time on Broadway. In the letter, I mentioned that I met him through an audition and how important it was for me to learn from other actors who had played the great Shakespeare roles - Hamlet, Iago, Macbeth; and that I would love to learn from him.

We met and I explained to him that I wasn’t looking for a one-off coaching, but something deeper - a way to become a better artist and human being.

As our session came to an end, I reached for my wallet to pay him for his time. However, Patrick graciously waved it off and suggested I could pay him during our next meeting.

The next day I received an email from Patrick, which said:

Dear Michael,

It was great talking with you today. I really admire your desire to learn and the fact that you are actively seeking out people to learn from.

As you know, I charge a fee for coaching sessions. However, it seems to me that this is not what you are seeking. You are looking for mentorship, which cannot be sold, only given.

It would be my privilege to mentor you. There will be no charge for our sessions.

Reading that email now, I am still astounded by Patrick's generosity and his understanding of the power of mentorship.

Patrick gave me one of the most extraordinary gifts of my life.

And for that, I am forever grateful.

How has a mentor impacted your life? How could you be a mentor to someone else today?

A CREATIVE TOOL

This past week, I was in laboratory with Theater Mitu as we elasticized ideas around our newest piece - (holy) BLOOD. I’ll write more on this next week.

In the meantime, when I think of creative tools, I am so grateful to Mitu for introducing me to a new way of making work. Our laboratories are the opposite of rehearsal, as we use this time to expand our ways of making work together. Each laboratory is defined by an exploration - last time was composing music, this one was about none other than, blood!

Want to learn even more creative tools? Check out the weekly newsletter I write at HUG called Creator Royalties.

A PIECE OF ART

“I Worried” by Mary Oliver

I worried a lot. Will the garden grow, will the rivers
flow in the right direction, will the earth turn
as it was taught, and if not how shall
I correct it?
Was I right, was I wrong, will I be forgiven,
can I do better?
Will I ever be able to sing, even the sparrows
can do it and I am, well,
hopeless.
Is my eyesight fading or am I just imagining it,
am I going to get rheumatism,
lockjaw, dementia?
Finally, I saw that worrying had come to nothing.
And gave it up. And took my old body
and went out into the morning,
and sang.

Know of anyone who might benefit from these helpful creative reminders? Send them this link.

Grateful,

Michael