What Do You See?

Weekly wisdom to level up your creative life in 3 minutes, for free.

Happy Wednesday!

Here’s a short story, a creative tool, and a piece of art to inspire you this week.

A SHORT STORY

Geshe and Michael

Every time I sit with my friend Geshe Damchoe from Tibet, I gain new insights. Together, we've engaged in conversations in India, Israel, and most recently, at my favorite diner near my home.

Geshe collaborates closely with His Holiness the Dalai Lama, so whenever we meet, I inquire about his latest learnings from His Holiness's teachings.

Over a bacon, egg, and cheese sandwich, Geshe shared, “His Holiness is currently focusing on the teaching of two truths - conventional truth and ultimate truth.”

Conventional truth describes the concrete world we experience in our daily lives. Ultimate truth, on the other hand, refers to the ultimate reality, which is empty of concrete and inherent characteristics.

This reminded me of a profound saying I once came across - “The wise reject what they think, not what they see.”

What deeply resonates with me about this teaching is that despite the limited time the Dalai Lama has left on this earth, he's imparting to us the most crucial lesson inherent in these two concepts.

How do we not get caught up in our illusions, views, and separation? And how might we get free?

And perhaps, rather than judging others, I'm consistently reminded to first look inward and pose these questions to myself.

What illusions or stories are you currently caught up in? How can you separate some distance between you and that story?

A CREATIVE TOOL

During the pandemic, Patrick and I organized a Shakespeare class online that focused on every aspect of Shakespeare’s craft. Students learned and practiced the foundational principles of acting, textual analysis, verse, characterization, themes, imagery, and meaning.



What surprised me most about this weekly creative appointment was how powerful it was to anchor to a beautiful mind like Shakespeare.

This summer, we’ll be exploring Romeo and Juliet, if you want to join us. Each class lasts 10 weeks wherein an entire play is dissected from beginning to end.

Want to learn even more creative tools? Check out the weekly newsletter I write at HUG called Creator Royalties.

A PIECE OF ART

“Widening Circles” by Rilke

I live my life in widening circles
that reach out across the world.


I may not ever complete the last one,
but I give myself to it.

I circle around God, that primordial tower.


I have been circling for thousands of years,
and I still don’t know: am I a falcon,
a storm, or a great song?

Know of anyone who might benefit from these helpful creative reminders? Send them this link.

Grateful,

Michael